Trustees and Members

The Trustees


As a charitable Trust, the Board of The MILL Academy ensure they comply with charity and company law requirements.  Two core functions of the Board  are to set the strategic direction of the organisation and to ensure financial probity.

As a Multi Academy Trust, the Board  is responsible for all of the schools in the Trust. Each school has a Local Committee (LC). The Board may delegate functions to the LC through the Scheme of Delegation.

Board of Trustees 2023/24


Date Appointed

End of Office

Appointed by


Business and Pecuniary Interests

Katrina Black

7 December 2022

6 December 2026




Wendy Hemmingsley

October 2015


By virtue as CEO

CEO, Accounting Officer, Finances and Resources Committee

Headteacher: The Henry Box School 

Claire King

20 November 2018

Term 2: 20 November 2022

19 November 2022

Term 2: 19 November 2026


Trustee Chair and Safeguarding Trustee

Trustee: Stephenson Studio School, Leicestershire

Dr Chris Laing

8 October 2019

Term 2: 4 October 2023

7 October 2023

Term 2: 3 October 2027


Trustee, Finances and Resources Committee

Chair of Governors (joint position held with his wife): Kings Meadow Primary School, Bicester

Colin Mitchell

22 January 2022

21 January 2026


Trustee Vice-Chair, Chair of  the Finance and Resources Committee 


Laverne Williams

11 March 2022

10 March 2026





Previous Trustees 


Date Appointed

End of Office or Stepped Down Date

Michelle Turkie

7 July 2021

31 December 2021

Janice Davison

1 December 2021

24 April 2022

Prof John West-Burnham

10 October 2018

Term extension: 10 October 2022

9 October 2022

Term extension: 7 December 2022

Penny Gardner

2 May 2019

25 January 2023


Please find our Scheme of Delegation,  Terms of Reference and governance related documents below. 


The Members

Members are similar to a company's shareholders. Their key responsibilities include appointing the trustees and holding them to account for the successful governance of the trust.

The MILL Academy Members 2023/24


Date Appointed

Appointed by

Attendance at AGM

January 2021

Pecuniary Interests and Conflict of Interests

David Jones

21 January 2019 (re-appointed)

12 October 2015



Parish Councillor, Basildon Parish Council

Independent Member Bracknell Forest Council

Claire King

5 October 2023

By virtue of office as Chair of Board


Trustee: Stephenson Studio School, Leicestershire

Wilf Stephenson

1 October 2015

Oriel College


Treasurer & Bursar: Oriel College

Director of 3 subsidiary companies of Oriel College

Governor and Trustee: St. Edward’s School, Oxford

Member Advisory Board Charities Property Fund

Tony Wilson 

Named Member: ODBE Corporate Member

1 October 2015




ODBE involved with 19 Multi-Academy Trusts and schools 

Tony Wilson is the Director of Education for ODBE

Trustee: Oxford Diocesan Schools Trust

Member and Trustee: Oxford Diocesan Bucks School Trust

Trustee: Eynsham Partnership Academy Trust